Texas law requires all damage to pipelines caused by excavators to be reported by both the pipeline operator and the person digging around the pipeline. If you are digging near a pipeline, you are considered to be an excavator. Operators and excavators that are not in compliance with Chapter 18 can be cited violations and penalties of up to $10,000 per day per violation under these rules.
Texas law requires you to call 811 at least 48 hours before you dig. There is no cost for this service.
What does digging mean?
16 TAC Chapter 18 defines excavation as the movement of earth by any means. This includes inserting, moving or removing any object in the ground, even fence posts, rods, stakes, picks, shovels or other hand tools.
Who has to call?
Everyone. Even if the excavation is going to be done on private property, in an easement or right-of-way, or on top of the “original” grade, a locate must be requested.
When you call...
Be ready to give the following information:
Save the locate ticket number, the one-call notification center gives you. This is your documentation that you called before digging.
Things to know
After you call
Electric or Gas Emergency?
Call 210-353-HELP (4357)
Billing or Service Questions?